Lees jou gunsteling-tydskrifte en -koerante nou alles op een plek teen slegs R99 p.m. Word 'n intekenaar
Clean sweep for Parel Vallei

This year marked the 15th anniversary of the annual Summer Interschools athletics competition between Hottentots-Holland (HHH), Strand (HS) and Parel Vallei (PV) high schools.

The action took place at PV’s sports field last Friday (31 January).

It was a glorious summer day and the sing-song groups on the pavilion made for the perfect picture against the Helderberg mountain, and all present were reminded of how privileged they are to present such a big event.

With a Proudly South African theme and the Zulu word simunye, meaning “we are one”, Parel Vallei won the Megan Robertson Spirit Trophy with a spectacular optog and the sing-song squad displaying the true “Blue Thread” spirit throughout the day. Over the years, the spirit award has had a hugely competitive edge and winning is never a given. The trophy belonged to HHH for the past few years, so the PV learners will enjoy its presence for the rest of this year.

On the athletics field the sporting excellence of all three schools could be seen, with all the athletes displaying optimal performance. HHH finished in third with 1 945 points and HS second with 3 256, but it was PV that enjoyed an overall victory and retained the Walter Laurie Co-Ed Athletics Shield with 3 705 points.

Parel Vallei also won all eight age group trophies, thus also bagging the Peter van der Merwe Shield for the best boys’ team and the EB Roelofse Shield for the best girls’ team as well.

The Faasen Trophy, awarded to the athlete who obtained the most points on the APE 2020 table in an individual event, was awarded to Hoërskool Strand’s Marli Botha, an under-17 hammer thrower who gleaned 888 points with a 47,55 m throw. She was also awarded a medal for the best hammer throw achievement of the day.

The Deon Burger Trophy, awarded to the best athlete in four items, was awarded to Marietjie Cilliers of Parel Vallei, who ranked up 3 017 points according to the APE 2020 table. She also received medals for being the meet’s best athlete in the middle distance and walk events.

As in years gone by, the mass relay event was again one of the gathering’s highlights, and congratulations must go to Hoërskool Strand who won the coveted event.

The Summer Interschools Athletics Committee, under the guidance of Eunice Kets (PV), Annemarie Immelman (HHH) and Annamarie Louw (HS), thanked all three schools’ teachers and parents involved for their hard work and effort.

Special mention was also made to the athletics meet’s main sponsor DisChem and its manager Daniel du Toit, for creating the sporting platform in the basin for the three high schools to compete against each another.

V Medal winners: Marietjie Cilliers (PV, middle distance and walk); Kyle Slater (PV, hurdles and long jump); Ané Braasch (HS, javelin); Garth Yon (PV, high jump); Monique van Greunen (PV, shotput); Courtney Jenniker (PV, triple jump); Marli Botha (HS, hammer throw); Zinathi Fukweni (PV, discus); and Caitlynn Isaacs (HS, sprints).

V Records: Courtney Jenniker (PV) improved the triple jump record for u-17 girls from 10,26 m to 10,30 m; Christopher Smith (HS) improved the hammer throw record for u-17 boys from 51,49 m to 51,59 m; Roux Nieuwoudt (PV) improved the u-19 boys’ shotput record of 14.04 m set by Andreas Groenewald with a great 14,52 m effort; and Melissa Hoffman (PV) improved the hammer throw record for u.19 girls from 40,61 m to 41,75 m.

MyStem: Het jy meer op die hart?

Stuur jou mening van 300 woorde of minder na MyStem@netwerk24.com en ons sal dit vir publikasie oorweeg. Onthou om jou naam en van, ‘n kop-en-skouers foto en jou dorp of stad in te sluit.

Ons kommentaarbeleid

Netwerk24 ondersteun ‘n intelligente, oop gesprek en waardeer sinvolle bydraes deur ons lesers. Lewer hier kommentaar wat relevant is tot die onderwerp van die artikel. Jou mening is vir ons belangrik en kan verdere menings of ondersoeke stimuleer. Geldige kritiek en meningsverskille is aanvaarbaar, maar hierdie is nie ‘n platform vir haatspraak of persoonlike aanvalle nie. Kommentaar wat irrelevant, onnodig aggressief of beledigend is, sal verwyder word. Lees ons volledige kommentaarbeleid hier

Kontak DistriksPos Kontak ons

Hallo, jy moet ingeteken wees of registreer om artikels te lees.