Lees jou gunsteling-tydskrifte en -koerante nou alles op een plek teen slegs R99 p.m. Word 'n intekenaar
Progress unbeaten rugby champion of 2019

PROGRESS Rugby Club is the unbeaten 2019 EPRU Twizza Super League champion.

This is a first in many aspects for the beloved champion rugby club. Not only is it the first time the Twizza sponsored trophy is annexed, but also the first time that it is being called the Super League. To crown it all, Progress played in style, going unbeaten through the tough 23 matches.

“Progress was very eager to play the final, be it against Park who won (on the field) in the semi-final or arch-rivals PE Harlequins,” said Phillip Joseph from Progress Rugby Club.

“EPRU declares Progress as the only unbeaten team and top of the log - thus the legitimate and ultimate winner. The club wants to emphasize that it was not of our own doing, it was out of our hands.”

During the first round Progress beat all its opponents including Park with a score of 22-21. Thereafter they finished top of the log in the Top 12, and had to play against fourth placed neighbours Gardens in the semi-final.

“In front of a capacity crowd and the lively Progress band, the Blues beat the Greens 26 against 22, to qualify for the final.

“Unfortunately disputes in the other semi-final (PE Harlequins vs Park) resulted in the final being cancelled at the last minute. This was after Park beat Harlequins at the Adcock Stadium.

“EPRU had to take a board room decision to declare Progress the undoubted best team as the Twizza Super League winners of 2019,” said Joseph.

Not only did no other team beat Progress, but the club also underwent a transformation and showed and illustrated a very clear non-racial character.

“Progress also showed very good administrative competencies in that nobody could fault our registration and clearances processes.”

The executive and coaches must be complemented and congratulated, with the club planning and looking forward to doing very well in the new format National Gold Cup competition of SARU during 2020. The bulk of the executive committee, under the astute leadership of Deon Reece (Kosie) Basson has been retained.

“Our thanks go to all, especially players and spectators that made 2019 immaculate and that will be a hard act to follow,” said Joseph.

  • On Saturday, November 9, Progress will have its annual Sportsperson of the Year award evening at the Town Hall in Uitenhage, starting at 18:30.
MyStem: Het jy meer op die hart?

Stuur jou mening van 300 woorde of minder na MyStem@netwerk24.com en ons sal dit vir publikasie oorweeg. Onthou om jou naam en van, ‘n kop-en-skouers foto en jou dorp of stad in te sluit.

Ons kommentaarbeleid

Netwerk24 ondersteun ‘n intelligente, oop gesprek en waardeer sinvolle bydraes deur ons lesers. Lewer hier kommentaar wat relevant is tot die onderwerp van die artikel. Jou mening is vir ons belangrik en kan verdere menings of ondersoeke stimuleer. Geldige kritiek en meningsverskille is aanvaarbaar, maar hierdie is nie ‘n platform vir haatspraak of persoonlike aanvalle nie. Kommentaar wat irrelevant, onnodig aggressief of beledigend is, sal verwyder word. Lees ons volledige kommentaarbeleid hier

Kontak UD Express Kontak ons

Hallo, jy moet ingeteken wees of registreer om artikels te lees.